Fan 590 Sports Update

I hate the new format.   I liked the old intro music and I don’t like how they are playing music in the background the whole time.   I find the music distracting from THE NEWS.   I don’t know why they decided to make this change but I am thinking about sending an email to them to complain.   I know the intro music won’t be changed back but if enough people have the music in the background then maybe we can get rid of it.   What do you think?

3 Responses to “Fan 590 Sports Update”

  1. whatigotsofar Says:

    It started on Sportsnet with the highlight packages, Rogers started putting generic crappy rock in the background. I tell you, it weirded me out at first. With the surround setup I’ve got, the music is faint and in the rear speakers. And usually the one time I’ll watch Sportsnet is in the wee hours when I wish I could be sleeping. Many many times I got up off the couch to check my alarm or my cellphone thinking the music was coming from that. It took me months to realize it was the background music in the highlight reels.
    Lately, I’ve noticed TSN is starting to do it. AAAAAHHHHH!!!

    As for the FAN, I rarely listen to the FAN since the Swirsk left for Chitown. When I do, it’s usually during Primetime and that’s just for me to laugh at the morons calling in to Bobcat for his opinion on stuff that’s already been discussed to death. Frankly, Bobcat isn’t opining anything an intelligant person hasn’t already thought of. Not that Waters is any better, in fact, I wanna push Waters off a bridge, but sometimes, there’s nothing good music-wise on the radio.

    All-in-all, you gotta realize something. Sports broadcasting is for stupid people generally. Especially in this town. The people who call in, generally, aren’t very bright. These are the sort of people who can’t grasp the beauty of the game they claim to love. They are fans of the team and demand only victory from that team. They are not fans of the sport. They lack appreciation for the skill and ability required to be the lowliest athlete or coach in the majors.

    Whoh, got off topic a bit there.

  2. DarcsFalcon Says:

    If it bothers you that much, absolutely email the company. Chances are if it bothers you, it bothers someone else too, and collectively, you might be able to make a difference.

  3. DarcKnyt Says:

    I once heard that media stations view each letter as a thousand, because for every one letter they receive there are a thousand people who feel the same way but didn’t take the time to write. So the company might take you very seriously and consider what you have to say as representative of a good portion of their audience.

    Or not. You never know. 🙂

Leave a Reply

