What is the Intent of some soon to be Law and Order Changes?

I was just reading that Law and Order Criminal Intent will be undergoing some big changes.   By the end of the season, Goren, Eames and their boss will all be off the show.   Jeff Goldbloom’s character will become the new lead detective on the show.   The reasoning I have heard is because the show likes to have a lighter tone to the other L&O shows and Goldbloom’s character brings that.   I have never been a fan of Goren but I think this is a really stupid move and it will spell the end for this show.   I think that this version has already been doing poorly (I think it only airs on USA in the US, NBC won’t show it).

Link: http://tv.yahoo.com/blog/law-and-order-casting-intent–623

9 Responses to “What is the Intent of some soon to be Law and Order Changes?”

  1. whatigotsofar Says:

    I never liked the show. Didn’t even watch it when Logan was on.
    Meanwhile, in normal L&O news, Van Buren has (treatable) cancer. I hope she offs some more punks before she goes.

  2. DarcsFalcon Says:

    I don’t watch any L&O shows, but I do like Goldblum’s acting. I thought WIGSF was joking the other day when he made the crack about season 20, until I went to ImDB. I had no idea they’d been around that long! Guess I’m totally out of that loop.

  3. DarcKnyt Says:

    Jeff Goldblum on TV just rocks. I love his style of acting. I don’t follow L&O (any of them), but I think adding someone like Goldblum can’t be a bad idea. It’s amazing to me the show’s in its 20th season! That’s quite a run!

  4. whatigotsofar Says:

    Hey Darcs, yeah, both of you. How many shows last 20 seasons on TV. In terms of scripted programming, I can only think of three that aren’t soap operas. Law & Order, The Simpsons and Monday Night Raw. When Deadliest Catch or Ghost Sniffer goes into reruns, flip over to one of those, give ’em a whirl. L&O is still one of the finest programs on TV. That probably says more about all the other tripe on television today but still, watch ’em!

  5. Bob Says:

    Monday Night Raw has been on the air for 20 years?

    • whatigotsofar Says:

      I think it just turned 20 a few months ago. But yeah, 20 years, every week, no re-runs. (We didn’t get it in The Canada for the first five or six and then it was sometimes moved around the schedule a bit.) Not always quality programming, but it’s always been there.

      • Bob Says:

        I did some research, I know wiki isn’t a great source but it claims the first Raw aired in 1993. Did they have multiple seasons in a calendar year like Survivor would? That is the only way they could have reached 20 already.

  6. whatigotsofar Says:

    My bad.
    I coulda sworn they did a 20th anniversary of something this year. I wonder what that was.

  7. DarcsFalcon Says:

    SNL’s been on a long time too, but I don’t watch that one either. I tried watching L&O a few times – saw the one where the woman got killed in the car accident – but it just never sank in for me. I think I felt like I was being preached to on the episodes I did see. Can’t really explain it.

Leave a Reply

