No music stores in the ‘Shi

My cousin’s kids are really into music.   The middle kid, he has posters of KISS, the Rolling Stones and MegaDeath on his walls.   All three boys play instruments and I think one or two of them are in bands.   I offered to drive one of them to the mall so that they could go to the music store.   That was when I found out that the music store in the mall had closed down.  There was no longer any music stores in the town.   He said he had to shop for music at Walmart.   I couldn’t believe that.   I remember at least two music stores back in the day.   Also another implication you can get from this blog is the fact that there may be no records being sold in the town either.   I even remember an antiques store that had records in it, that place had also closed down.    It was sad, I am not a big music consumer but to see kids like this not able to go into a record/music store, it just seems like a crime.   We joked about openning up a music store there, but my brother pointed out that Walmart could probably put us out of business with their buying power.

4 Responses to “No music stores in the ‘Shi”

  1. DarcKnyt Says:

    Pretty soon there won’t be stores at all, just mega-conglomerates like Wal-Mart. You can even get groceries there. It’s a sad, sad thing. I remember when Tower Records went out of business; a piece of my childhood died.

  2. DarcsFalcon Says:

    That’s just sad. When I was a teen, one of the places to hang out was the record store. Of course, they had a head shop in the back, but still – record stores were cool and fun and it’s heartbreaking to think they’re going the way of the dinosaur too.

  3. whatigotsofar Says:

    I’m not gonna touch this one with a ten foot clown pole.

Leave a Reply

