A “Comic Geek”

I collect comic books.   I have done so for over 20 years.   You can guess that I have quite the collection buying books over such a long period of time.   Thing is I don’t advertise this fact to people.   I feel shame for collecting comics… because to most people if you tell them you collect comics then they assume you are a “comic geek”.   That designation has negative connatations.   Thing is I don’t identify myself as a “comic geek”.   Sure I could debate who would win in a fight Superman or the Hulk but I am not the type of guy who hangs around a comic store debating that sort of thing.   It doesn’t help that my friends identity me as a comic geek.   I find it weird, because if I was to identify myself by any of my hobbies/interests, it wouldn’t be the comics that I would identify with but instead the fact that I play sports.   I am a big sports fan and I spend more time doing stuff sports related than comic related.  

I am bringing this up because this is something that I am definitely not comfortable bringing up when starting up in a relationship.   Sunday morning I was watching weekend morning superhero cartoons with my lady friend (I cannot use any other term for her because we still haven’t had “the talk”).   She was the one who wanted to watch the cartoons.   So I am sitting there pretending not to have a full knowledge of all the characters on the screen (I could have wrote the X-Men episode that we watched, I knew what was going to happen before it happened).   I was sitting there thinking, she likes the superhero movies, she likes the cartoons, maybe I should tell her… but then in the back of my mind I reminded myself the negative connatations of admiting that you collect comics especially at 29 years old.  

Do you agree with me, does collecting comics have negative connatations?   Would I be looked at as a “Comic geek” if I admit it to her?

7 Responses to “A “Comic Geek””

  1. Rachel Says:

    I like geeks period. So I have no negative feelings about this.

    I will address your concerns with your lady friend. Reveal it to her when you feel comfortable doing so, but it is part of who you are so you shouldn’t hide it. If she thinks badly of you for it, then she is a shallow bimbo who isn’t really a good person for you and its time to give her the boot. Which means you should tell her that you are a comic collector before you are too vulnerable to rejection.

    Just my two cents.

    • Bob Says:

      You like geeks? I hope this girl I am seeing feels the same way. You are right, while I should wait for the right time to tell her, I also can’t wait too long because if I do then I may end up being vulnerable to rejection.

  2. whatigotsofar Says:

    I would stop buying the comic books for the time being. You’ve got a wedding to pay for. Actually, even before that, you should probably find a new storage place for your comic books as she will need the storage space when she moves in with you. I’m guessing you’ve got most of your comics boxed up in your storage closet or something. So, when she moves in, all of your stuff in your place will have to be moved into storage, therefore the stuff already in storage will have to go somewhere else.

    Actually, here’s an idea. When you moved out of your parents’ place, what did they do with your old bedroom. If you can, turn that into your own little comic book haven. But knowing your parents, they probably already turned the room into a sewing room or a den or something. Or they built themselves a new master ensuite complete with a jacuzzi and/or sauna.

    • Bob Says:

      Hahaha. Very funny. Speaking about my parents place, my room was changed into a guest room, my brother’s room was left as his room and he still has clothes, books, etc in there. It really isn’t fair.

  3. DarcKnyt Says:

    If she likes superhero cartoons and movies, why do you think she’d have a problem with your comic book collection? As a matter of fact, you might be able to use a cartoon or movie as a segue into introducing her to your collection. She might enjoy seeing the history behind some of the characters and story lines.

    I agree with Rachel though — get this onto the table as soon as possible. Since you don’t spend as much time doing this as you do participating in sports, I really don’t see this as a problem. It’s something you’ve been doing for 20 years, for Pete’s sake. I don’t consider people like you “geeks”, I consider them “collectors”.

    I bet this will be fine. I suspect the girl is interested in YOU, not in what she wants you to be. If that’s not true, then it’s high time to find that out before things get any more serious, don’t you think?

    Just my two cents (US).

  4. DarcsFalcon Says:

    Oh Bob. If she likes YOU, then your comic collection is just a part of you for her to learn about.

    I was never into comics, barely watched a cartoon. Couldn’t have cared less. Then I met a man who not only had a box of comic books, he watched cartoons all the time, and he even was at one time an aspiring comic artist, and a damn good one too. And he was in his 30’s when I met him. And married him.

    Now I know more about Batman and Spiderman than I ever thought possible because now I have a son.

    Please, if you like this girl, just be you! Don’t get started on trying to be what you think her version of you might be. That route will only cause more heartache than it’s worth.

  5. Bob Says:

    I am seeing her tonight, maybe we will talk about it then. I did think about using the cartoons on the weekend as a way to bring up my comic collection but then I decided against it. I wonder if I will find another opportunity soon to bring it up. I don’t want to just randomly bring it up.

Leave a Reply

