Why does nobody ask about my basketball?

This is not directed at any of you.  I don’t expect any of you to ask.   This is more about my parents and my brother.   I finish a game and start talking to my Dad on the phone and he never asks how it went.   I have actually complained about it once or twice now.    This has led my brother to say that he doesn’t really consider it serious.   He thinks we are just fooling around.   I tell him I play in two leagues and if I am just fooling around in these leagues then that means the baseball leagues we played in was just us fooling around.  

Still I got home last night and not only did he not ask how the game went but we asked me since when do I play three days a week.   I told him I had been doing so for two months now.   Good to see my roommate is paying attention (he followed up that question with: “Which days?”).    I am worried that my new lady friend might start doing the same.   She has asked before but I saw her briefly last night after the game, she never asked how it went.  

Last night’s game was a good one.   We were facing the first place team who we KNOW we are better than.   The only reason they got the win last time we played them is because I am too nice and they cheated with their scoring.   I wanted revenge last night.   We got it by beating the other team by 10.   After a game like that, I want to share the victory with someone, is that so wrong?   After leaving it all on the court (hours after the game I found various injuries), it would be nice if somebody showed an interest in something you feel so passionate about.    Maybe I am making a bigger deal of this then I should be but that is how I feel.

11 Responses to “Why does nobody ask about my basketball?”

  1. whatigotsofar Says:

    Does the ladyfriend ask about your basketball games?

  2. Bob Says:

    Interesting… I guess you just scanned this one. Because I said at the end of the 2nd paragraph, “I am worried that my new lady friend might start doing the same. She has asked before but I saw her briefly last night after the game, she never asked how it went.”

  3. wigsf Says:

    I never read the whole post

    • Bob Says:

      Boo! Boo! I take an interest in your posts and read 90% of them. Mine are usually A LOT shorter, how much time does it take you?

    • whatigotsofar Says:

      Well, maybe if you writing wasn’t so bland…

      • Bob Says:

        You seemed to like the style I used earlier in the week when I discussed what woke me up in the middle of the night. If you really feel this wy, you don’t have to read the blog.

  4. DarcKnyt Says:

    I don’t think you’re making too big a deal out of this, honestly. This is something important to you, something you’re deep into and passionate about. I don’t think it’s too much to ask for people you care about to take an interest in YOU as much as you do with THEM. It’s natural.

    And even though you said it wasn’t meant for us, let me tell you why I don’t ask. I don’t enjoy basketball (or any sport other than American pro football, and not even all of that). I’m just not a sports guy. It simply doesn’t pass through my brain to ask about sports even though I know you enjoy it, are involved in leagues and competitions, and really throw yourself at it. It’s not that I don’t care about you as a person, but it’s something my brain doesn’t bring to the fore. I don’t mean to be insulting or rude, it’s just outside my realm of awareness.

    Reason I say that is, this is probably true with the lady friend and maybe even your family to varying degrees. Because it’s not something THEY’RE deeply passionate about, it just doesn’t enter their realm of awareness to ask about it. It’s not that they don’t care about you so much, but it’s less likely to come up than something which touches on their life-spheres as well as yours; i.e., something you share in common. Does that make sense?

    I’m not saying that IS the reason, I’m offering that as a possible explanation. I’d be interested to know what you think of it.

    And congrats on the revenge. Nothing’s sweeter. 🙂

  5. DarcsFalcon Says:

    It’s natural to hope that the people we love, love us enough to be interested in the things that interest us. I try to be interested in all the things that interest my husband but sometimes I just can’t get there no matter how hard I try.

    Good for you on the victory, that was an awesome job, 10 points! As for wanting to share the success, that’s normal and natural for you to want to do that. All you can do is ask, I suppose. Perhaps if they truly realized how important it is to you they might take more of an interest. At the same time, is there something they are passionate about that maybe you could take an interest in too? “Tit for tat” sort of thing?

  6. Bob Says:

    Went right over to her place after basketball yesterday. She never asked. Oh and she says she can’t watch basketball for long periods of time because if she does, all she can hear is the sweaking of the shoes and it gets on her nerves.

    • DarcKnyt Says:

      Man, that … sorta sucks, bud.

      I understand she’s not into basketball herself — heck, I’m not either, and yeah, the shoe squeaking is irritating, no doubt — but she could’ve at least ASKED. She’s into YOU even if not into basketball, right? I mean, c’mon. C’mon.

      Sorry to hear that. But if it doesn’t change how you feel about her and doesn’t present a problem in your relationship, there’s no issue.

      I still think maybe there’s a communication thing needed here, though. I don’t know why she wouldn’t know this about you, but maybe she doesn’t get how important it is to you? (Still?) Just wondering aloud here.

      I still think it wouldn’t kill her to ask, but that’s me.

  7. DarcsFalcon Says:

    What Darc said.

Leave a Reply

