A crappy football weekend

Most of the important football games this weekend didn’t go my way.   It all started with the thursday night game, I was rooting for the Colts to lose and they are still unbeaten.   Saturday night I went out to the bar with friends from baseball and after going back and forth in the pre-game, I decided I wanted the Cowboys to lose because I want them out of the playoffs.   They won too.   Sunday night, I didn’t get to watch the Vikings game but that might have been a good thing because the Vikings stunk.   They had a 7-6 lead going into the 4th quarter but then they allowed 3 touchdowns and never scored again.   

My fantasy football playoffs started this weekend and I have some vikings on my team.   Although beyond my vikings my team played well, my opposition played better and I got knocked out in the 1st round.   I was the first seed! (Maybe I should have set-up the league with first round byes)

The only good news is that with the Packers losing, the Vikings clinched their division.   They still have one of the best records in the league and still could be considered a favourite to get to the superbowl but looking at last night’s score, it doesn’t feel like it.

3 Responses to “A crappy football weekend”

  1. whatigotsofar Says:

    Fantasy schmantasy.

  2. DarcsFalcon Says:

    Eh, my football record sucks this weekend. I’m only like 8 of 15. I’ll be lucky if I break even this week. I still have to update my pick on last night’s game too. *sigh* http://footballness.wordpress.com if you wanted to check it out.

  3. DarcKnyt Says:

    I wanted the Cowboys to lose too (my two favorite teams are the Patriots, and whoever the Cowboys are playing), but I ended up rooting for them because of DeMarcus Ware. He’s a champion and I’m glad he could play and play well this weekend after that almost-nasty hit last week.

    Sorry about the Vikes, bud. Only problem is, the only thing I hate more than the Cowboys is Favre. So I never mourn when he loses. Fortunately the ENTIRE NFC NORTH lost so the Vikes clinch. Will they finish with a good record? Yeah. But the Saints are going to be 15-1 and the Vikes WILL go there to play.

    I wanted the Colts to lose too. In truth, I wanted both the Colts and Saints to go undefeated and meet in the Super Bowl, but now that the Saints have lost, I want the Colts to drop one too. Just ’cause.

    Sorry about your fantasy team, too. Knocked out after being the number one seed? YIKES. Sounds like the Chargers back in ’06. Same thing happened to them. The Pats beat ’em. Heh.

    Sweet memories.

Leave a Reply

