LOST is back for the last time!

 One of my favourite TV shows returned last night for its final season, it was the former emmy winning drama, LOST.   I loved the concept of this show before it started airing.   When it did start airing and I started to get the sci-fi vibe from it, I wasn’t happy.   That wasn’t what I was looking for but I was still very happy with all the great character moments.    Then a couple of years ago they brought in time-travel.   I am not a fan of time travel stories because they are very hard to do and you need to have rules in place and stick to them.   But I have to say, I was impressed with how they set rules and kept them in place.  

SPOILERS FOR THE FINAL SEASON:

Last night’s premiere, I feel it broke that rule.   Last night we had two separate storylines going on at the same time.    The first one takes place in 2004 and it asks itself, what if they had changed the past and the plane had never crashed?   At least it looks like that is the question.   There of course could be more to it.   The other storyline has the survivors still on the island, this time in 2007.   All the crazy storylines are still in play.    I want some finalty to the crazy storylines so I am happy we are getting to see that.    I am not happy with the plane storyline.    I don’t believe they can change the past.  I don’t want them suggesting that it is possible as a concept.     So it angered me to see the plane.   But I am dealing with it by thinking that the plane scenes are just a fun “What if?” storyline.   Distracting but it can still be fun.  

Yesterday: 5568 steps

#35 101 Things to do before you die: Play a part in your favourite TV show

I am not sure if I have a favourite.   That is right now or all-time.   Mind you LOST would be up there but it is too late for that now.   You never know, in the future, I might really love a show and try to scam my way into being on the screen as an extra or something.   This will be yet another one that is hard to achieve.

8 Responses to “LOST is back for the last time!”

  1. DarcKnyt Says:

    Y’know, I’ve never watched this show, and haven’t a clue what it’s about. I thought it would be about survivors of a plane crash on an island somewhere. Sort of like Tom Hanks’ movie Castaway done as a TV series. I thought, “No way. No potential. What can you do with that story for more than a season?”

    Hearing you talk about it, though, I’m glad I never got into it. But it’s quite a bit more interesting than it appeared at first.

    One day, you should give a series of blog posts going over the plot and the overall story lines and offer folks a synopsis of the events.

    Then I don’t have to try and find it elsewhere online. 😉

    And you’re right, time travel storylines are for crappy, desperate shows or franchises which need a reboot and can’t think of a better way to do it.

  2. Bob Says:

    They pretend they had time travel in mind from the beginning (which is probably true because there were tons of hints). I also wanted it to be like castaway. I thought that kind of show had lot of potiential because of the whole “Lord of the Flies” vibe you could create. It could have had this whole post-apocalyptic vibe to it. But they went a diferent direction.

  3. whatigotsofar Says:

    i refuse to watch lost until they bring in a coconut radio or the harlem globetrotters

    • Bob Says:

      I am aware of that. I am glad you don’t watch LOST because I am not interested in seeing those things on the island.

      • whatigotsofar Says:

        you mean you wouldn’t want to see basketball on the island, for shame doc

        All adult Africian Americans that have set foot on the island have been killed. I don’t wish that fate on any of them.

      • whatigotsofar Says:

        is it a racist clan thing or is it a “the black guy always dies first” thing?

        I am unsure. It was just something that I noticed when yet another Africian American character died last night.

  4. Rachel Says:

    I just started watching it. LOL.

    I think the reason why they have those two storylines going is because the atom bomb that was set off at the end of last season split reality into two. So now we have two paralell realities–and now we need to find out how the two realities become one, or how one ends.

    I dunno, like I said, I just started watching it.

  5. Bob Says:

    Are you saying you just started watching this season without watching any of the previous seasons? That can’t be true, that is crazy!

Leave a Reply

