I am in trouble

Yesterday, Bobette wanted to say it.   She wanted to say those three words that I am not ready to say.   I wonder how long she has wanted to say them.  I wonder when she will actually say them.   She stopped herself yesterday because she said it is too soon.   While I think next weekend is also too soon, I wouldn’t be surprised if she tries saying it next weekend (or if she expects me to say it next weekend) because next weekend is of course, Valentine’s Day.   I don’t know what to do.   I don’t want to hurt her but I can’t say it yet.   I am not going to say those words unless I mean them.

The steps on the weekend: 5662, 5447, 5119.   Sunday was the toughest.  Zan made fun of me for taking extra steps at certain points.   But as you can see I barely reached my goal.  

#79 of 101 Things to do before I die: Answer a Personal Ad

The book is referring to one in a newspaper without a picture and such but this is one I achieved last year.  I consider e-harmony to be personal ads.   Am I right?

13 Responses to “I am in trouble”

  1. whatigotsofar Says:

    yes, eharmony is a personal ad.

    how to respond to those three words:
    – “and why shouldn’t you? i rock”
    – “you talking to me?”
    – “I don’t believe you. Prove it”

    Gee, wonder why I’m single.

  2. Bob Says:

    I actually like the first response. Course I would have to follow it up with something “real”.

  3. whatigotsofar Says:

    The brilliance of the first one is that it throws a curveball. It gets her off her game. You have to know that she’s anticipating what you might say in response. She won’t anticipate that.

    Of course, if I was you, next time I saw her, I’d really have some fun with this. For example, you two are out for pizza. “Bobette, I love [pause] mushrooms. You know, there’s no better pizza topping than mushrooms.” Then later at a movie “Bobette, I think I love [pause] DTS sound systems. Can’t get enough of that low low-end.”

    I need to find someone who appreciates my sense of humour.

  4. DarcKnyt Says:

    Okay, please listen to me and NOT to WIGSF. That first answer he gave, which you think is cool, ISN’T. You’re going to be single before you can say “WIGSF, you suck!”

    Please don’t say that.

    I think you need to have a conversation with Bobette VERY EFFING SOON. Like, BEFORE next weekend, and explain honestly and openly what’s going on with you. How you want to be SURE of it before you say it. Of course, that might land you in Singletown too.

    HM. I’ll wait for Falcon to sound off before I say anymore. I think saying it one sided and having it out there is a disastrous Seinfeld episode waiting to happen, though. I think you need to get in front of this thing before it runs you down. If you’re not in the same emotional juncture she is, it’s dangerous for her. And she might want to bail when she finds out she’s more invested than you are.

    I could be wrong, too. So I’ll stop talking now.

    How ’bout them SAINTS, huh?!

    And yes, eHarmony counts.

  5. Rachel Says:

    Yes eHarmony counts. LOL

    And go with Darc, not WIGSF. If I were on the receving end of any of those comments, I’d be royally pissed and itching for a fight…a fight which may or may not lead to a dumping. The L-word talk is hugely important and must be taken seriously. Especialaround bloody-flipping-Valentines day.

  6. whatigotsofar Says:

    Rachel, Darc, I think Bob knows when I’m joking. He did state that he’d have to follow it up with something real.

    And for the record, when a woman said those three little words to me, I just said them right back.

    • DarcKnyt Says:

      I knew you were joking. I was blowing you some sh!t because you deserve that.

      This L-word talk thing is gonna get ugly.

      And yes, WIGSF, you can relax, we know when you’re in a relationship (however infrequently it happens) you get PW’d right away. HA!

      ZZZZZZZZiiing!

      😉 (J/K)

  7. whatigotsofar Says:

    And something else, those words are thrown around these days like cheap confetti, they got meaning left.

    • Bob Says:

      To me they still have a lot of meaning. That reminds me of a comparison I made. I said when we were teenagers, those words didn’t mean as much overall. But now they are quite powerful.

  8. whatigotsofar Says:

    ^ got NO meaning left.

  9. DarcsFalcon Says:

    Whoops, forgot to log Darc out – go ahead and delete that one, I’m reposting.

    Yes, eHarmony counts.

    The dreaded L word. Oh boy, you are in a heap of trouble, yes you are. If you’re not ready to say it and she is, that’s setting up the r-ship to be all off kilter. If she says it and you don’t, she’s going to be constantly wondering when you WILL say it, IF you’ll say it, etc.

    You’re not in the same place as she is, that’s been clear almost from the start. You really owe it to both of you to be honest with her now, to tell her where you stand, where you see the relationship going, if you see it going anywhere other than friends with benefits. And it’s okay to tell her that you’re slower to come to the love thing than she is.

    But be prepared for this to end, okay? If she says it and you don’t, she’s going to feel used (even though she started the sleeping together thing) and embarrassed. I don’t recommend lying, because then what kind of a relationship do you have? And what kind of a man are you?

    So I’d head her off at the pass and tell her now, before VD, that you’ve been thinking and you’re concerned that things are moving faster than you’re ready for, yadda yadda yadda. Then she’ll know where you stand and won’t make a fool of herself and might just be willing to continue the relationship in the hopes that you’ll catch up to where she is in the not-too-distant future. Easier to wait for potential success than start over, when you’re a single woman around 30.

    My 2 cents. Do you still have cents up there in Canadia?

  10. Bob Says:

    Yes we still have cents. Thanks!

  11. whatigotsofar Says:

    hehehe Falcon said VD.

Leave a Reply

