One step back

Well my streak is over.   It all started on friday.  I walked quite a bit and then drove over to Bobette’s so that I could pick her up to take her to a movie.   When I got in the door she told me she changed her mind, she wanted to watch the Olympics opening ceremonies.    Let’s ignore how bored I was friday night but because we stayed in and didn’t go to the movie, I didn’t have to do any walking.   When the ceremonies ended it was past midnight and I was something like 400 steps back of 5000!   Before I went to bed, I eventually walked the 400 steps but I have been doing these steps in 24 hr periods.  So technically friday could be seen as a failure.    I thought about bringing up the fact that I passed the 5000 mark before I fell asleep but that excuse doesn’t hold water for the rest of the weekend.  Saturday I did over 5,000 steps but sunday, I only did 4371 and yesterday (I skiied without my cellphone) I only did 1233.   Total failure on my part.    I am not sure if I should try to continue the month or not.   When I originally thought of this idea, I said to myself, I need to have a punishment if I can’t complete it.   What do you think the punishment should be? 

#?? of the 101 Things to do before you die: Go bungee jumping

I misplaced the book so I don’t know what number this one is.   But I know it is in there because when I originally read it I rolled my eyes.   This is not something I want to do.   It is not my type of thing.   Don’t see myself doing this one this year… maybe ever.

7 Responses to “One step back”

  1. DarcKnyt Says:

    Keep going for it! There are long-term health benefits to this, not just an accomplishment. You can do it! Stay the course and keep up the good work. I know you can get back on that horse.

    Here’s another way to look at this too: If you did WAY more than 5K a few days, right? You posted about going over 8K, didn’t you? So that will offset some of the days you didn’t make it. And if you went way over more than once, you’ve probably hit that balance.

    Since you and Bobette are still together, I guess the L-word thing worked out okay? 🙂 Glad it did.

  2. whatigotsofar Says:

    Did you have a failure akin to the mechanical failure that caused the pillar to not lift entirely?

    • Bob Says:

      Whoa! Kindof a personal question. Not the kind I expected from you. My pillar had no malifuctions and it lifted properly and was hard as a rock.

      Knyt, I know I might be averaging over 5k per day but I didn’t want to do average, I wanted to just be over 5k every day. Different goal in a way.

      I will blog on the L-word thing later this week.

  3. whatigotsofar Says:

    Sure, keep us in suspense about love thang.

    • Bob Says:

      I wasn’t planning on, I wasn’t going to bring it up but then he did. I thought it would be rude to ignore the question. Also I might get more material tonight for the blog tomorrow.

  4. DarcsFalcon Says:

    What pillar? I didn’t see anything about a pillar.

    I don’t think you should punish yourself. Then you might end up defeating your purpose. It’s a good thing you’re accomplishing and you should keep going forward, even though you’ve had a step back. So you take some extra steps tomorrow, you know? Don’t give up when you’re doing so well!

  5. Bob Says:

    I am not sure if I was doing so well in the first place. Some people claimed I was cheating to get there. Maybe I should stop it and get back to just plain losing weight so that I can win the bet with my brother.

    Oh and did you not hear about the pillar that malfunctioned during the opening ceremonies of the Olympics?

Leave a Reply

