Lent

Lent starts today.   I am unsure what to give up for Lent.   I have been giving up different things over the last few months or at least cutting back on stuff.   I am unsure what to give up.   Here are three ideas I came up with:

1) Potato chips – I don’t buy/eat them a lot but I do munch on them at parties and I do enjoy them.

2) Oreo cookies – I don’t want to quit eating all cookies but there has been these packages of oreos constantly appearing at work.   I will no longer eat them.

3) Chocolate milk – This is the big one.   WIGSF has been telling me to stop drinking this stuff.   Mind you I am talking about store bought chocolate milk.   Milkshakes and nesquik mixed milk, does not count.

Any other suggestions or comments?   I am open to other stuff being added to the list.  Man it is going to be a long 40 days.

#65 101 Things to do before you die: Shout “Drinks are on me!” in a Bar or Pub.

Damn, this one could cost a bit.   But at the same time, if I pick the right night at the right bar, it might not cost that much money.   I wonder if I can do it when pretty much the only people left in the bar is my baseball team.

6 Responses to “Lent”

  1. whatigotsofar Says:

    Normally for Lent you give up sex and that’s been really easy for you in previous years. This will be your first really difficult Lent.

  2. Bob Says:

    really easy? It was not easy. But yes, it would be even tougher this year which is why I do not plan on attempting to do that.

  3. DarcsFalcon Says:

    I like to tell the story that Darc told me once from when he used to be Catholic and people would ask him what he was giving up for Lent. He’d say, “Restraint.”

    It always makes me laugh. 🙂 Don’t know if he ever said that or not because he wasn’t Catholic anymore by the time I met him, but I think it’s a great answer!

  4. Bob Says:

    Speaking of restraint. I was at my brother’s place this evening. He had some of my favourite cookies. I decided to have one with milk. That was a mistake. I am having a huge craving right now. I might be “off the wagon”. I was doing such a good job staying away from Decadent cookies.

  5. DarcKnyt Says:

    One year I told everyone I was giving up restraint. Another year I told people I was giving up Catholocism. Be creative and you’ll find something fun to give up. 😉 (J/K, by the way.)

  6. yellowcat Says:

    I gave up the F-word since I sling it around like a sailor. I figured avoiding that word would make me stop and think about why I wasn’t saying it. Some people said it isn’t much of a sacrifice, but you don’t know how hard it is to work with the general public without having an F-word laced, screaming rant in the walk-in cooler at least once a day.

Leave a Reply

