Would you do it?

I read this story last night about this radio DJ who was offered $100,000 to change his name for a year.   Some car racing guy wants the guy to change his name to a website.   So essentially it is an advertising thing.   But it brings up the question, would you change your name to something stupid for a year for $100,000?  

Link: http://sports.yahoo.com/nascar/blog/from_the_marbles/post/Would-you-change-your-name-to-TexasMotorSpeedway;_ylt=Ar.ggpd_cbCRK68WA6CTkU85nYcB?urn=nascar,231184

#13 “101 Things to do before you die”  Meet someone with your own name

This is tough.   I would have to search out somebody with my name and then hope they are in the type of business that I could walk up to them and inquiry about their services.   At least I think that is the easiest way.   I guess I could just contact them and say “We have the same name!”

5 Responses to “Would you do it?”

  1. DarcKnyt Says:

    I wouldn’t do it. Not for a year, not for that amount of money. It goes OH so quickly, the money. But for another zero, I would.

    For the record, I think Chad Ochocinco has the market on stupid things to change one’s name to cornered. THAT was dumb. That’s not even how you say 85 in Spanish. What a moron.

    Meeting someone with your own name might be tricky. I’ve Googled my name and found it’s not as unique as I thought. Give it a try; you might be surprised what you find.

  2. whatigotsofar Says:

    When my father found out there was a family in Woodbridge with the same last name, he just looked ’em up in the book and called them.

    I think the stupidity of the name would have to be weighed against the amount.
    For example, for one million, I’d change my name to Dick Hardcock. But to change my name to Google Verizon, I would have to charge at least five million.

    Dude, for someone with your name, you have a .com. You’re a massage therapist for men and women. There’s even a link that reads “Read what people are saying about [insert your name here]”.
    But I’m sure you’ve already found this website.

  3. whatigotsofar Says:

    Okay, I’ve been reading up on your .com. You’re awesome. You sing, you dance and you heal.

  4. DarcsFalcon Says:

    I would change my name for a year for the right amount of money.

    It’s easy to find someone else with your name – just type it into Google or Bing and zing, you’re right there. I did it about 15 years ago on switchboard.com and found there were at least 2 dozen other “me’s” listed. I was going to send them all a letter and start a club, but then I thought, nah. I suddenly felt like I was in jr high again.

Leave a Reply

