I am a Wallflower

While in Niagara falls last weekend, saturday night our group went to a club.   It was called “Dragonfly” or something.    It was a weird experience.   There were three guys there and 5 girls.   We pretty much let the girls dance while we stood by the wall.   Bobette’s roommate called me a “wallflower” at one point.   To be honest, while I had heard of the band, I never knew what that word meant until then.   But you know what, I was in a club, I don’t mind being a “wallflower” if I am in a club.   Things I saw at the club:

1) There was a washroom attendent there, I didn’t see him until he handed me a paper towel to dry off.   He said something to me and pointed to a chip jar or something.   I couldn’t hear what he said because the place was too loud.

2) Sometimes they played good music.   At one point I heard MJ… but after playing 30 seconds of the song, they changed the song.   They weren’t even sampling it or anything.   They just started and stopped it.  

3) There were a lot of TVs in the place.   When out in a setting like this, my eyes are use to watching the TVs and keeping an eye on them.    This was not a good thing in this case.   There were no sports on the TV.   There was no TV program at all on the TV.   The stuff they showed was like the stuff that windows media player would show when there is no video to accompany a song.   The trippy lines, colours, shapes and such.      You know what I mean.   I was worried that the stuff was brainwashing me.   I had trouble taking my eyes off of it at a couple of points.  

#81 “101 Things to do Before you die”  Get barred from a Pub or Bar

– This might have already happened.   I could be barred from returning to the Fox and the Fiddle.   I don’t know for sure because I don’t plan on going back there after the “incident”.   If I do get barred from a place it probably won’t be because of my actions but somebody in my group’s actions.    Only time will tell.

14 Responses to “I am a Wallflower”

  1. DarcKnyt Says:

    You’re in good company, Bob. I’m a wallflower too, have always been and will probably always be.

    When I was a kid (4th or 5th grade), girls LIKED wallflowers and kept trying to get me to dance. All the way up until I started to really be interested in girls.

    Then it all went away. *Sigh*

    Ah well. I’m married now, and have never been barred from a drinking establishment.

    • whatigotsofar Says:

      You know Darc, I never thought about it before, but you’re soooo right. A girl will ask boy to dance up until the very moment the boy realizes he likes girls. It’s like they have this built-in instinct to annoy and frustrate us for all eternity. Damn those women, damn them all to Hell!

  2. Bob Says:

    Oh and on a related note, this is my last blog entry from my Niagara weekend. Nothing else happened of note from the weekend.

    • whatigotsofar Says:

      You mean you didn’t push Bobette into the falls just to see if Superman would save her?

  3. whatigotsofar Says:

    Oh, and for people reading this who don’t know about the “incident” you can read all about it over here.

  4. DarcsFalcon Says:

    There is nothing wrong with being a wallflower. Not everyone is designed for the club scene, to do all that drinking and dancing and socializing with strangers. So don’t feel too bad about it. You’re just you, and just fine as you are.

    Oh, the guy in the washroom – that was a tip jar, not a chip jar. He was looking for you to tip him for handing you the towel.

    Now I’m off to read about the incident. Sounds so mysterious!

    • Bob Says:

      I meant tip, I must have typed “chip” by accident. Thing was, it sounded like he said somebody else already paid. I knew when I heard it that it made no sense but I really didn’t need the help getting the towel.

  5. yellowcat Says:

    I’m a wallflower, but I call myself a social observer. I see lots of things when I go out and most of them are more amusing than being drunk.

    I’m very happy and nice when I drink so I can’t imagine ever getting banned from a bar…unless I’m sober. I tend to be kinda mean.

  6. trailerparkbarbie Says:

    My dad use to call me and my sister a wallflower as a synonym. Honestly, it didn’t make sense then and doesn’t make sense now.
    yellowcat….social observer sounds much better.

  7. DarcsFalcon Says:

    @WIGSF It’s you’re welcome. The “you are” contraction is correct, the “your” means something belongs to you, like a possession; i.e. a car or something like that.

    😀

    Hey Bob, did you know you can change the reply thread for up to 10 replies? It’s in your dashboard – settings – discussion – enable threaded comments [how many] levels deep. If you wanted to make it more. 🙂

Leave a Reply

