My car broke last week

Notice I didn’t say broke “down”.   It still ran but the driver’s side door wouldn’t open.   I first found out after doing some shopping.   I then spent the rest of the week getting in the passenger side and climbing over.  

I took the car into a friend’s shop on thursday.   We took the door apart.   He decided I needed a new part.   He ordered it friday and I am still waiting for it to come in.   I am still driving the car but I still have to climb in from the other side and now the door panel is in the back seat.   That means some of my electrical is screwed up.   I can’t roll down any windows now.    I really hope the part comes in today.

While in the shop, I saw another car in there.   It belonged to Joey Jeremiah from “Degrassi”, it was a DeLorean like the car from Back to the Future (except there is no time machine tech attached to it).   Joey wanted the car lowered.   I guess he still wants to look “cool”.

Mr. Cool

More of the “Greastest books”:

Brighton Rock – Graham Greene

The Buddha of Suburbia – Hanif Kureishi

Catch-22 – Joseph Heller

Catcher in the Rye – J. D. Salinger

A Christmas Carol – Charles Dickens

Crash – J.G. Ballard

The Crow Road – Iain Banks

David Copperfield – Charles Dickens

– I know there are some classics on this list, I have never read them (although I was an English major).   I decided I am leaving the ones I consider “read” for friday.

8 Responses to “My car broke last week”

  1. whatigotsofar Says:

    Joey Jeremiah has a DeLorean. That is so 80s.

  2. DarcKnyt Says:

    I’m with WIGSF on the DeLorean. Gimme a break, dude.

    Hope the car situation works itself out really soon. Bummer on that score. On the other hand, good choices on this list of books. As an English major (cool!), I’m surprised you weren’t required at some point to read the Dickens books already.

    Looking forward to your read list.

  3. DarcsFalcon Says:

    I remember my 1st car, someone hit the driver’s side door and after that I had to wire it shut and always use the passenger side to get in and out. That really sucked. It was an old beater and not worth repairing, not that I could afford that anyway.

    Looking forward to seeing what’s on your read list. 🙂

    • whatigotsofar Says:

      My mother’s first car had a huge hole in the floorboards. If she lifted the mat, she could see the road. She called it a Flintstone car.

  4. yellowcat Says:

    I’ve read two books on that list.

    When car trouble begins, it’s best to get rid of the car. I’ve learned from experience, the little stuff will nickel and dime you to death.

  5. Bob Says:

    I drive a Kia. It isn’t nickels and dimes for parts when it comes to a Kia.

    • yellowcat Says:

      My mom has a Kia. Her radiator started leaking and the terms of her warranty stated it had to go to a Kia dealership. That’s 2 hours (one way) away from here. So after several failed appointments, the dealership finally fixed the problem and charged her $2,000. I would have crapped my pants.

Leave a Reply

