This week in Softball

Played 4 games since my friday blog.   The friday game did not go as I expected.   I played relatively well.   I was 3-3 in the game.   But our bats weren’t doing very well.   We lost 18-8.   It was a very deflating loss.  

My Ajax sunday league… we had a lot of fans come out.   Bobette’s parents even came out.   I got there just as the game was beginning.   Because of that I was batting low in the line-up… only got one at-bat.   Nicely hit ball but right to someone’s glove.     I played well defensively but I found some of my teammates still need to learn a lot about playing baseball.     We lost 18-0 to a team that we were told was one of the bottom-feeders last year.    They were good.   This “rec league” doesn’t seem very recreational.   It will be a long season.

Played two games last night.    I did not play well.   Sure I made some catches in the outfield (what I was doing out there, I am not sure) but I screwed up in the infield and my hitting wasn’t good enough.   Sure I hit the ball relatively hard but I was 1-6 over the two games.    We lost the first one to the top team and we got a tie in the second game.   

After the game there was some talk among a small group of guys.   Some of them were talking about how some egos were not being checked “at the door” and one person suggested that we got an “old” coach to coach the team.   People would respect the words of an older coach.    I thought the idea was ridiculous.    We should respect each other and we have enough baseball knowledge on the team.   These guys seriously had me thinking about taking over or at least re-joinning the executive to take some charge.   I know WIGSF, you always believed this would happen.   I haven’t done it yet.   But these guys are pissing me off.  

More books:

Earthly Powers – Anthony Burgess

Easy Riders, Raging Bulls – Peter Biskind

The End of the Affair – Graham Greene

Explaining Death to the Dog – Susan Perabo

George’s Marvellous Medicine – Roald Dahl

Girlfriend in a Coma – Douglas Copeland

Good Omens – Neil Gaiman and Terry Pratchett

The Grapes of Wrath – John Steinbeck

Gravity’s Rainbow – Thomas Pynchon

Great Expectations – Charles Dickens

Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy – Douglas Adams

– This part of the list has some books I can see myself picking up and reading.   Maybe I should try to complete this list.   But first i have to finish the King books I am reading.

12 Responses to “This week in Softball”

  1. DarcKnyt Says:

    If you’re reading Stephen King (you said King, and when you do that I always assume it’s Stephen), make sure you get The Dark Tower cycle included. Some of his best writing, hands down. It’s like literary methamphetamine.

    As the softball — wow, this sucks. I now what it’s like to think you’re a powerhouse ready to run for the roses only to discover … not so much. I have no idea what happens to blow the bottom out on an otherwise good team, but when it happens it’s always deflating.

    Try not to get demoralized though. I know it’s tough for a competitive guy, but try not to be demoralized by these losses; they’re only a rec league, no money’s involved. (Maybe that perspective helps? I doubt it.)

    Anyway, you can still get better. Hang in there!

  2. whatigotsofar Says:

    [WISGF hangs head in shame]

    Dude, I’ve seen you play baseball for a lotta years. You seriously don’t look happy when you’re playing. If playing makes you happy, it doesn’t show. I think you need to find a new hobby.

    • Bob Says:

      any suggestions?

      • whatigotsofar Says:

        New Hobbies for Bob:

        – Creative writing
        – Bike riding (you can go with Carmine, try and keep up)
        – Knitting
        – Model trains

      • whatigotsofar Says:

        I got it! Oh man do I got it or what! I totally got it! It’s a very social thing to do. It is in itself a bit of a workout. More so than baseball. And here’s the best part, you can take Bobette with you. She’ll probably really enjoy it.

        ballroom dancing

        Bobette is starting to really enjoy baseball. But I will take your suggestion to her.

      • whatigotsofar Says:

        I know a place that does lessons but then on Friday nights, sometimes Saturdays, turns into a ballroom dancing nightclub.

  3. Bob Says:

    The last two sound like fun hobbies to you? Also the things you are suggesting aren’t very social. I like the social aspect to team sports.

  4. DarcsFalcon Says:

    Square dancing! That’s more like a team than ballroom dancing. But WIGSF is right – he sees you play and is saying you don’t look happy. And I have to say, you don’t sound happy when you write about it. It seems like you’re more frustrated than anything else. And I’m sorry about that.

    I don’t think I’ve read any of those books. Hmm. If I did, I can’t remember.

    Volleyball? Tennis? Those are things you could do together.

    • Bob Says:

      I have suggested taking up tennis or golf. She has said no to tennis but is willing to try golf.

      WIGSF is talking about previous seasons he hasn’t seen me happy (course for our winning season last year at York, I think he attended 0 games). I was in charge then, I had to take on a lot of the bullshit and therefore probably looked like I wasn’t having that much fun. But in the end, I enjoy the baseball seasons more than anything. They are my summers.

  5. yellowcat Says:

    I’ve read one of those books. So far I’m not doing very well on the Greatest Books list.

Leave a Reply

