This Week in Slo-pitch

Last friday although it was a long weekend we still had a game.   We were short a couple of players but our bats finally woke up and we scored 30 runs.   Our D still wasn’t perfect but we won 30-16.    Bobette has taken an interest in scoring and was our secondary score-keeper.   I had a big hit and after hitting it I wanted to do something stupid and point to her as if I was dedicating it to her.   She was scoring at the time and not looking up.

The same thing happened last night at our double-header.   This time she was our primary score-keeper as none of the other girlfriends came out early enough and we had a lot of guys coming late.     I am breaking out of my slump but my weekday team is not.    We can’t field and we can barely hit.    Our record is now 1-6-1.    Not pretty at all.   Almost had a tie last night.  

Next game is friday in King city.   I am optimistic about the game.    Then my sunday Ajax team has a double-header this weekend.   Hopefully this time we can score a run!

More books:

Valley of the Dolls – Jacqueline Susann

The Van – Roddy Doyle

The Wasp Factory – Iain Banks

Waterland – Graham Swift

The World According to Garp – John Irving

Winter’s Tale – Mark Helprin

7 Responses to “This Week in Slo-pitch”

  1. whatigotsofar Says:

    Where’s the game in King City? I’ll try to make it up there. Not that it’s far for me. In fact, it might be very close.

  2. Bob Says:

    It is near King side road and Keele. Just on the south-east side. If you go down Doctors Lane or the next road you can find parking near the diamond. We play at 9pm.

    • whatigotsofar Says:

      There’s a Kawartha Dairy ice cream store near there too.

      • whatigotsofar Says:

        Oh shit, I’m doing I house right in there next month.

        Point it out. If one of our guys can reach it, we will hit a ball right into their kitchen. More work/$$ for you guys!

  3. DarcKnyt Says:

    30-16?! Holy cow! I thought baseball was a LOW-scoring game! Too bad about the Ajax team, though — you had such high hopes for it. 🙂

    • Bob Says:

      Yeah, I know I didn’t have high hopes for Ajax. But in the end we have only played one game so far. We can only get better!

      Also this is slo-pitch, games are definitely more high scoring.

  4. DarcsFalcon Says:

    Wow, you won with 30? That’s amazing! Good for you and Woo on the win!

    I’ve read a couple of those books – Valley of the Dolls, and Garp. I can’t believe Dolls is on that list.

Leave a Reply

