Oliver

OliverBobette loves the movie “Oliver and Company” from the early 90s.   She has always wanted a kitten that looked like Oliver.   One almost fell into her lap early this year.   I had to try and convince her not to get the cat.   Now she has found out about another kitten that fits the description and she wants to get it.   This one is in a different situation, if it doesn’t find a home it will be put down.   Problem is that Bobette of course already has a cat.   If they can’t live together this will cause problems.   Also there are going to be bills to get the cat fixed and such too.   Last but not least, we are going on vacation next month.   She already was going to have trouble finding a place to send her present cat, if she gets Oliver then she needs to get someone to look after him too.    I am not sure what she is going to do, I will keep you updated. 

#62 “101 Things to do Before you die” Join the Mile High Club

– Yeah…. I don’t think so.   I am not adventurous and even if I was, I know that security on planes o

5 Responses to “Oliver”

  1. DarcsFalcon Says:

    Well. Pets are a big responsibility. And if she’s already going to have trouble finding care for the pet she already had, then now may not be a good time to get another one.

    Cats will learn to live together. It might be rough the first couple of days but then they form some kind of truce, and later sometimes friendship. I used to have 2-3 cats at any given time. So that’s really the least of the concerns. But the vet bills, yes, that’s something to think about. Cats aren’t cheap.

    But, saving a life, who can put a cost on that? Now – here’s the toughest part. How much are you willing to invest in fulfilling a childhood wish? Cats are really a dime a dozen and there’s always another one who looks like the one you miss. And it IS just a cat. I’m a huge cat lover so I know how she feels, at the same time, I try to be reasonable about it. Pets are nowhere near as important as people.

    I’d pass on the mile high club thing too. Wow, that seems so 70s! LOL I remember hearing about that when I was a kid. Do people still do that?

  2. DarcKnyt Says:

    Cats’ll find a way to get along, no issue there like Falcon said. The bigger problem is the care and feeding of not one but two animals. I used to know some people who would go away for a weekend, and put the toilet lids up and fill up all the sinks with water, put fresh cat litter in the litter box, and put out enough dry food for a few days. The cats were fine.

    Longer than that, though, and you have to find someone willing not just to feed and water them, but clean the cat box too. Much harder in my mind. And I had the same problem with my dog; if I went anywhere I had to find someone to care for her — feeding, watering AND walking and scooping up afterward. Not a fun chore for anyone.

    But saving a life is pretty important. I hate to see a good cat go down for nothing. Does she know why the cat’s in the shelter?

    On an unrelated note, the Mile High club is overrated; enjoying sex is much more fun to me than the adventure factor. 🙂

    • Bob Says:

      The cat isn’t in a shelter. A woman found the mother with kittens in her backyard or something. She tried bringing all of them to a shelter but they couldn’t take them all because they are at capacity.

  3. whatigotsofar Says:

    Dude, you’re Canadian. You’re not allowed in the Mile High Club. You are eligible to join the 1.609344 Kilometer High Club.

  4. yellowcat Says:

    Cats will live together especially if one of them is a young cat. Cats also don’t need much care when you are away on vacation. You can have someone stop in and feed/water them once a day and they are good. I’m all about having more than one animal, but I know not everyone is.

Leave a Reply

