Oliver and Charlotte

The cats met again this weekend.   Charlotte came over on saturday.   She didn’t immediately see Oliver but I believe she could smell him.   When she eventually saw him she started hissing at him and such and we separated them.   Oliver wasn’t as scared as he was the first time they met.   They met up a few more times that day with Charlotte always hissing at Oliver.  

On sunday Charlotte was a lot better behaved.   She didn’t freak out as much.   Maybe she should have.   With Charlotte being calmer, Oliver was definitely not afraid.  He tried numerous times to sneak up behind Charlotte.   I am not sure what he was going to do to her if we didn’t stop him but I have a feeling it involved grabbing or biting at her tail.    Suddenly we went from scoulding Charlotte to scoulding Oliver.    I am finding that Oliver is getting more and more violent.  I need to calm his ass down.   He is always trying to grab my feet from under the bed.   If I don’t put him in his place I could get attacked in my sleep!

#59 “101 Things to do before you die” Leave a job you hate

– I hated my job at Sam’s Club.   I tried 3 different positions in the store and they kept getting worse.   The last one had good hours and it gave me some good manual labour that let me get into better shape but I hated my boss and he made me hate my job.   The guy was a prick he was angry because he wasn’t a manager yet.   Probably had a napeleon complex.    I quit that job and tried to get more work from the school board.   Almost 6 years later and I am happy at the board.

4 Responses to “Oliver and Charlotte”

  1. yellowcat Says:

    You need to research cat behaviour. You shouldn’t try to stop Oliver and Charlotte from doing whatever it is they are going to do. It establishes the pecking order and the problem is over. It may sound like they are killing each other, but they aren’t and the next thing you know, they will be sleeping together. Stopping them from doing their thing will just prolong your agony.

    Oliver isn’t getting more violent, he’s growing more familiar with you and sees you as a playmate. He doesn’t realize his claws and teeth hurt. A squirt bottle will deter unwanted behaviour.

  2. whatigotsofar Says:

    if you named him Garfield, he’d be more docile

  3. DarcKnyt Says:

    I’m going to refrain from the usual cat crack I would normally make here; and I think YellowCat gave you forreals advice. 🙂

    Good for you on the hated job thing! Nice to be able to do that.

  4. DarcsFalcon Says:

    YC’s right – in fact, you should be letting these cats spend more time together, as much as possible, and don’t try to break them up, just let them work on their feline relationship.

    It’s so nice to like where you work! I’m happy for you!

    Any dirt on Sam’s? I always wondered about that place.

Leave a Reply

