Stephen King Books

I finished “The Dome” last week.   I enjoyed it although I thought the ending could have been better.   I then asked Bobette “What should I read next?”   She then suggested that I finish ‘that “hearts” book that you had started’.   I gave her a funny look and told her I had no idea what book she was talking about.    I thought she was making the book up.  

Later that day I remembered that before “The Dome” came in at the library I had been reading King’s “Hearts in Atlantis”.    That was a very disappointing book (I finished it 3 days ago).   The main story had a lot of King staples with a touch of sci-fi and such but the second half of the book had different characters and different eras.   The book became less about the sci-fi and more about Vietnam and its ramifications on people.    That was not what I was expecting from the book and therefore I did not enjoy that part of the book.   Sadly that is also the lasting impression I have from the book at this point.  

So now I am considering starting King’s “The Gunslinger” for a 3rd time.   I was told that I should give the Dark Tower series another chance.   I am still unsure.   I am also unsure if I should go read “The Gunslinger” immediately.   I might be “King”ed out for now.   Maybe I should try one of the books from the “Best Books” list instead of “the Gunslinger”.    What do you think?

#12 “101 Things to do Before you die”  Storm chase a Tornado

– I was pretty sure I blogged about this one before but I couldn’t find it on the blog and it wasn’t checked off my list.   If I have then I apologize.   I don’t see this one being one I will try to achieve.

5 Responses to “Stephen King Books”

  1. whatigotsofar Says:

    Here is a list of books I think you should read:
    Double Wonderful by John Swartzwelder
    Oh The Places You Will Go by Dr. Seuss

  2. Bob Says:

    I will inquire at the library about those books.

  3. DarcKnyt Says:

    You know, I re-read some of the classics I had to read in school like A Separate Peace and Catcher in the Rye and I enjoyed them. And The Gunslinger is awesome. I read the entire cycle a while back and it was awesome.

    The books went places and showed things I thought I’d hate, but you know, they worked for the overall and I really liked ’em.

    You can also check out his son Joe Hill. Good writer. He has a short story collection out called Twentieth Century Ghosts and two novels. I’m about to read the second one soon as I get a chance in the next few days.

    Whatever you decide, don’t go after tornadoes. 🙂

  4. DarcsFalcon Says:

    Ooh, Darc beat me to it! I was going to recommend The Heart Shaped Box by Joe Hill. I think you’d like that one.

    I tried reading his collection of shorts but couldn’t get past the one with the kid turning into a giant cockroach or something buggy like that. The inflatable kid one was awesome though. 🙂

    I can’t recall you doing a post on being a storm chaser. I enjoy storms myself, but I could never chase them like they do.

  5. yellowcat Says:

    I don’t read too many books by the same author at one time, but if they are a series I can’t go too long without reading one or I forget everything that happened and have to start over. I’d say read a couple of other authors, then go back to King.

Leave a Reply

