How to improve the Home Run Derby

I am typing this before I leave for my trip to New Brunswick.    I didn’t watch the Home Run Derby on monday but I have heard from people who have that it wasn’t very fun.   As expected the lone Blue Jay in the contest, Vernon Wells, sucked with only 2 home runs.    I thought to myself, who would I like to see in a home run contest?    And that is how I came up with my new and improved Home Run Derby.   Now mind you, MLB would never allow this contest to happen but I would still like to see somebody try to organize this contest and to televise it.   

First, new and improved rules:  Only two rounds to this contest but instead of a certain amount of pitches or “outs”, the participants have 5 minutes to hit as many home runs as they can in the round.    This keeps the contest from going too long.    Now for my participants:

1) Jose Canseco – Like I said, MLB would never allow this contest to be approved by them.

2) Mark McGwire – He would need to get the Cards permission to go up against his former bash brother.

3) Sammy Sosa – Never liked him and I think he would suck but might as well let him prove that he is washed up.

4) Barry Bonds – Just because this is fun.

5) Ichiro – He doesn’t hit a lot of homers but I would like to see him compete.    Maybe he isn’t the best choice but I want one current player in the contest.   I just am not sure if it should be a slugger like Ryan Howard or a weak guy like Omar Vizquel.   

That is it.   Wouldn’t you want to see these guys compete?  

#??   “101 Things to Do before you die”   Get Revenge

– Since I am doing this in the middle of the night and do not have the book beside me, I can’t remember what number this one is.    I am not sure who I should get revenge against but I am not against the concept.   Hell I wanted to get revenge on some softball player last night who threatened me.   I didn’t get the opportunity.   😦   Enjoy the blogs for the rest of the week!

5 Responses to “How to improve the Home Run Derby”

  1. DarcsFalcon Says:

    Is that like what the Pro Bowl game is to football?

    Revenge. Hmmm. Now there’s a word. It has a nice ring to it, and rolls around the mouth really nice, doesn’t it? I can think of a lot of people I’d like to get revenge on.

    And then God smacks me in the face.

    *sigh*

    I hope you have an awesome vacation! Safe journeys and all that. 😀 Can’t wait to hear about it when you get back.

  2. whatigotsofar Says:

    I’m going to get revenge… on you.

  3. DarcKnyt Says:

    I have never, before this year, heard of the home run derby. How much a baseball fan am I? 😀

    Have a great vacation, safe travels and God bless!

  4. yellowcat Says:

    I like to get revenge. Most of the time though, people reap what they sew and they get revenge on themselves. I still like to watch that.

Leave a Reply

