This Week in Softball

The week started last thursday when we faced the top team in the league and we played at a small diamond that they are known for hitting home runs at.   We lost the first game but the second game was tight.   We hit some long balls and had a lead but then blew it.   We were down one but we got the bases loaded with 2 out (I was one of the outs).   Then one of our new players, James, was the hero with a clutch single to win the game!

On friday we faced a team that beat us the first time around (in a close game in a small diamond).   This time we were on a normal size diamond and we were ready for them.   We blew them out.   We won 22-7.   We are playing a lot better the second time around the schedule.   

The tournament…. didn’t go well.   I didn’t play well but I think some of the guys we had higher expectations for, they didn’t play well either.   I also was forced to play outfield which is not my position.    Outfield got even tougher after my glasses broke.    We still almost made it to the second round of the playoffs and I have the memory of playing against  guy who looked like Mickey Rourke (and probably played like him too).

Last night did not go well.   My brother did not attend the game.   I got to the game late and didn’t get to warm up.   I was told a minute before the game started that I was expected to play SS for the whole game.   Of the first 8 outs our team got, I made 6 of the plays.   I had more balls hit to me but I was tired and couldn’t make all the plays.   I had more trouble with getting the ball over to first.   Finally after 3 innings, I told one of the assistant captains that I needed to sit.   He said sure.   Next inning, three other guys decided they needed to sit (one of them being the captain of the team) and instead of them arguing about who had to catch that inning, I decidd I would catch.   There goes my break.   I stood there catching for possibly 20 minutes.   I watched as error after error occured.   At one point, I asked the ump when the game was going to end because I knew my team was not going to get 3 outs.    He said it would end if they ran out of time or got three outs.    Eventually the other team gave us the outs by hitting the ball to the pitcher and walking off the field.   I also had an incident with the ump but I don’t have time to get into that.

#8 “101 Things to do before you die”  Realize your childhood dream

– I feel like I have written about this one before but I couldn’t find a record of it.   I am not sure what my “childhood dream” is.   Until I figure that out I won’t be able to achieve it.

3 Responses to “This Week in Softball”

  1. whatigotsofar Says:

    That’s alotta softballs you got there.

  2. DarcKnyt Says:

    Sounds like your team’s on fire now. Making a serious run at the cup? How cool would THAT comeback be? 🙂

  3. DarcsFalcon Says:

    Yay for the wins, right? Even if some of the other stuff was less than perfect. A W is a W. 🙂

    Childhood dreams – I don’t know that I even know what those were anymore. Kids are silly. Sometimes the dreams are best left where they were.

Leave a Reply

