This Week in Softball

After having over a week off from softball it was great to get back on the field on friday.   We were facing the worst team in our division but we were missing two of our power bats and our starting SS.   We were so short players that we could not play with a rover.   I was glad to be on the field but I was dreading the outcome fom the game.   It ended up that I had nothing to worry about because the other team didn’t give up much resistance.   We won the gam 24-4.   I had 3 hits in my first 3 at-bats.   I also did some interesting base running.   Including a weird head-first slide into third base that caused me to scrap up part of my leg.   I had to play the over half the game with my leg on fire.  

Sunday night’s game… we didn’t have enough players and we were forced to forfeit.   I had my best offensive game of the sunday league, I was 2-2 with  triple and a walk.

#93 “101 Things to do before you die”  Complete the Monopoly Pub Crawl

– This one is tough but I can see me convincing Boston to help me with this and I can see WIGSF, willing to watch.   Meanwhile Bobette would probably not be impressed with this so maybe I shouldn’t tell her.   In the book, they use the British version of the game and they say to go to a bar on every street on the board.   I looked at the Canadian version and I found 15 streets that exist in Toronto.   That could be 15 beers in one day (that is only if a bar is on that street and I am pretty sure 3 of them won’t have bars).

4 Responses to “This Week in Softball”

  1. DarcKnyt Says:

    24-4! Woo! Butt-kicking of Biblical proportions! Nice!

    15 beers in a day? Man — tough call. Make ’em light beers or something. 😉

  2. DarcsFalcon Says:

    Wow, what a great score! 24-4, woo! Way to go! 😀

    Sorry about the leg. That sounds like it hurt, but man that must have been some slide.

    The Monopoly pub crawl? I have never heard of that one. The things people think of to drink to. I have heard of a drinking game around here where whenever the mayor gives a speech and says “basic-y” you have to down a shot. For some reason, Daley clearly finds it impossible to say “basically.” *eyeroll* I swear, I listened to one of his speeches once on YouTube a couple of years ago, and almost died laughing. I got up to 22 “basic-y’s” and had to stop watching because I was laughing so hard. And I wasn’t even drinking!

  3. whatigotsofar Says:

    I know baseball isn’t the most physically active sport in the world, but you know, I think I’ve realized something about you lately. Maybe, just maybe, you deserve your knee ailments. You know your knee is messed up and you have already been wearing a brace for a while now. Yet, you still go out there and keep playing these games. Sit the fuck down and get yer knee fixed or you’ll be in a frickin’ wheelchair. And you know, that is at any point, I have to push that wheelchair, I’m bringing you to the top of a big hill and giving you one good swift kick in the ass.
    But knowing you, if you survive it, you’ll probably enjoy it and say “I wanna go again!”

  4. Bob Says:

    so I should go against the doctors orders and get my knee “fixed”? Also I am not sure what my knee has to do with me scraping the other leg while sliding (except for the fact that I can’t do a normal slide because of the brace.

Leave a Reply

