Kris Kringle Idea

I have struggled the last couple of years with gift ideas for my friends for Christmas.   One of the reasons for this?   Because everyone’s birthdays is between now and Christmas.   So if I get an idea I end up buying it for their birthday leaving me back at square one for Christmas.  

This combined with how much Christmas keeps on costing, has led me to suggest that my friends and I participate in a Kris Kringle.   The question is:  How many people do we get to participate in this event?    I assume WIGSF and the twins?   What about Janet?   Chrissy?   I am not sure how far to go.   What do you think?   Do you think Kris Kringle is a good idea?    Have you participated in them before?   How did you like them?

7 Responses to “Kris Kringle Idea”

  1. whatigotsofar Says:

    I don’t like Kris Kringle. In fact, I’m willing to give up the whole gift-giving thing for birthdays and Christmas altogether. I’m not just saying this because I can’t think of a birthday present for you. I’m saying it because I can’t be bothered to get you a birthday present…
    Okay, but seriously. Can’t we just give up the whole gift thing? Do you really need a useless widget from me to say “Hey, you’ve gone another year without dying!”
    This year, just say it with a card, “Let me guess, it’s another hat!”

  2. Bob Says:

    You and I could go that route if you really want to. Myself, I like giving gifts. I like finding stuff for people and I like how their eyes light up when they open it. But it is getting tougher. If you really want us to go to “no gifts” (just like Boston and I), I guess we can do that. Not what I was looking for or expecting but I can do that.

    • whatigotsofar Says:

      How can we get the Wonder Twins to also agree to this?

      • Bob Says:

        I think it could be easy for you. For me it could be tough because with my birthday a couple of weeks away, they might have already bought me something! I think we can definitely swing it for Christmas!

  3. DarcsFalcon Says:

    Is that like Secret Santa? I’ve never heard of a Kris Kringle thing. If it is the same thing, I think it’s a good idea. Gift giving can get really expensive for some people.

  4. yellowcat Says:

    We always played the Gift Steal at this other place I worked. The party was a carry in dinner and an open bar with tons of games. Everybody was hammered an hour after dinner and when it came time to do the Gift Steal, people would start crying over a $10 Walmart gift. It was hilarious.

  5. Bob Says:

    Yes, I am talking about a Secret Santa type thing. I would also be open to the gift steal thing too.

Leave a Reply

