New car?

My Mother doesn’t trust my car.   Bobette doesn’t trust my car.  I am now worried about my car myself.   I was planning on buying snow tires for my car but I am not sure if I want to make any more investments in the car.   If I get a new (to me) car, do you have any suggestions?   What kind of car should I look for?   What features?

Bobette thinks I should go SUV because during the summer I cart a lot of baseball equipment.   She thinks the Nissan Rogue is a nice SUV.    I am unsure.   I am unsure if I should go new or used, SUV or normal car?   It is going to be a tough decision.

5 Responses to “New car?”

  1. whatigotsofar Says:

    Okay step one, stop lugging around all that baseball crap.

    Step two, get whatever the heck car you want.

    Step three, after being pussy-whipped into getting an SUV, Honda CR-V is the way to go. The Nissan is cheaper but the Honda you can beat like a rented mule and it will smile and ask for more. The body is shit, but the engine will last a lifetime.

  2. Bob Says:

    Step one – I have carried less crap this year.

    Step two – I don’t really care, I just don’t want the car to cost an arm and a leg.

    Step three – I will look into the Honda CR-V. Thanks for the advice.

  3. DarcKnyt Says:

    First, WIGSF is WRONG about Nissan. They’re good cars. I’ve had a lot of ’em and they’re well-made and will take a bit of abuse as well as any Honda, and they’re cheaper. So that’s that.

    Also, I agree you should get the car YOU want to drive, but I think SUVs are going to cost an arm and leg. For good measure you can get a “hybrid” and toss in a lung, too.

    But I like deciding on a car to buy and getting it. 🙂 Hope you enjoy the experience and remember — buying a used car means that person has a reason to get rid of it. Be sure to find out what that is if you can.

    • whatigotsofar Says:

      I didn’t say Nissans weren’t good cars. I just said Hondas are better.

      Also, Hondas are notorious for being roomy, even in smaller cars. And Bob might need a roomier car.

  4. DarcsFalcon Says:

    Well, if you think about a car on the 5 year plan, what kind of car works best for you? Figure you’ll probably have a car that long, at least 3 years, likely 5 or more, so look for something that fits in with your goals for the next few years of your life. Planning on kids? Get something with 4 doors. Planning on keeping up with the sports stuff? Make sure you can carry your equipment. Planning on more driving for work? Get something that more economical on gas. There are lots of things to consider, as well as cost, but I think cost probably carries the bottom line. You can’t get something you can’t afford, even if you like it more.

Leave a Reply

