Dis and Dat

I wrote out half a post earlier this week.   Too late now, it will have to wait until monday now. 

– NBA draft was last night, Raptors surprised a lot of fans and drafted a big European instead of a highly regarded PG from the NCAA.   People are going nuts.   I just find it funny how everyone knows more than the general manager. 

– Watching a BBC show called “Luther”.   It started off slow but has really picked up.   Still not sure if it is a keeper.    Speaking about iffy shows, I watched the Killing last week and it was pretty good until the end.   Hopefully the 2nd season is better.

– A version of Peter Parker is dead.   He has been around for about 10 years, he was still just a teenager and he died protecting his family and friends.    It was a sad tale but now that I think about it, it was a fitting end.   He was a kid who was in over his head for most of his career and now he finally bit off more than he could chew. 

– My desktop at work was replaced with a laptop with a docking station.   It is pretty cool.   I no longer have to bring my laptop from home when I am going in to a school.   Question is… am I allowed to bring this laptop home and use it at home instead of using my old broken down laptop?

5 Responses to “Dis and Dat”

  1. DarcKnyt Says:

    As for laptops: The “official” company answer will be no; only for company-use purposes. The truth is going to be something else. You still have to login to the company network via VPN to use their stuff and the laptop may be configured so you can’t get online at all if you’re NOT logged in. That’s how mine is set up.

    Peter Parker?! DEAD?! Which version?! I have to go look up, Bob– tell me which series!

    Have a great weekend.

  2. DarcsFalcon Says:

    I heard something about that Peter Parker thing too.

    Your laptop sounds cool! A docking station? Is it like a tablet thing sort of?

  3. Bob Says:

    The docking station is something to keep it from getting stolen. Keeps it charged and I am not sure what else.

    The Peter Parker that is dead is the “Ultimate” version. He has been only around for about 10 years but it was a good 10 years.

    • DarcKnyt Says:

      OY, and I just read this weekend they’re REPLACING him with someone else as Spider-Man with new clothes. Gimme a break. This will not. end. well.

      🙂

      Oh, and the docking station allows you to connect to external monitor(s), use the network cable/jack, and adds more USB ports and other stuff. Basically, it makes the laptop a desktop.

      • Bob Says:

        I think the idea will work. There are still something like 6 comic books coming out monthly with Peter Parker as Spider-man. This other universe is a separate thing.

        You are correct about the docking station. I forgot about the other stuff. It makes sense that i forgot because I use it as a laptop and use the monitor/mouse/etc. for the other work computer.

Leave a Reply

